top of page

Faith Versus Fear

FAITH VERSUS FEAR Psalm 27


It is interesting that no less than 14 times does David mention the Lord in this Psalm. Yet what is unique to David’s character is that he never mentions the Lord in general terms but rather personally. David looks to God as one who can comfort him in time of need and keep him from his enemies and help him to look to God with faith and fear.

He begins first by showing the confidence we have in God. Note Psalm 27:1-3. “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled

and fell. Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident. “

The very fact that the Lord is my light shows that God will guide us. He has given us a word that is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path (Ps. 119:105). God did not leave us in the dark about spiritual things for he gave His word to prophets and apostles who preserved that word in written form. Therefore today we have the ability to “walk in the light” (I Jn. 1:7) and therefore be cleansed from sin.

The very fact that the Lord is my salvation shows how gracious He is. Man could not save himself. Therefore through His mercy He did extend His grace through His son (Jn. 1:14,17; Rom. 1:4-5; 3:24-27). Why then should I fear what man should do to me.

Let the world do what it wants IT CANNOT CURSE ME. My salvation is of the Lord.

The very fact that the Lord is my strength helps me to endure the trials of life. This strength is a direct result of God being my salvation. For every trial in life there is a grace sufficient to cover it. Therefore “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me” (Phil. 4:13).

The very fact that He is my deliverer gives me the defense necessary to stand with confidence. Just as He delivered Israel out of bondage, through His resurrection he delivered us from the bondage of sin (Deut 5:14,15; Heb 2:14-15; I Peter 1:3; Mark 16:1-6,16).

Next our author shows us that out of the confidence we have in Christ we can have communion with Him. “One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the lord, and to enquire in his temple. For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock. And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the Lord” (Psalm 27:4-6). It is because of the Lord’s strength and salvation that we can with confidence say we

will dwell with God forever. We are a part of God’s house, the church. Yet we know that we are only pilgrims here on this earth and that our citizenship is in heaven. Therefore we long for heaven, the day we will see the Lord face to face and behold His great love and joy and mercy and grace and beauty (I John 3:1-3). Paul recognized this confidence when he wrote, “Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness which the Lord that righteous Judge shall give to me that day but not to me only but to all them that love his appearing” (II Tim. 4:8). How often do we sit back and just laugh out loud thinking about the time we will one day be in heaven? Do we think seriously about the song “Won’t It Be Wonderful There”? Do we really believe “Blessed Assurance Jesus Is Mine”? How many live in the world with a false hope of heaven? How many in the religious world have been relying on “their preacher” to be right come judgment rather than relying on God and His word? How many still do not know what it is like to be a part of the body of Christ, the house of the living God (I Tim. 3:15)? How many still do not know that the Lord’s temple is the body the church? “What know ye not, that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s” (I Cor. 6:19-20). Let us reach out with the message that “the Lord is in His holy temple let all the earth keep silence before him” so others will want to be a part of the body of Christ and have the confidence we share.


The psalmist in Psalm 27:5 sets forth a threefold reason for having communion with God. First that one may be sheltered in His pavilion in time of trouble. How great it is that we can gain our shelter IN CHRIST. How great it is to take refuge among God’s people. I live in a world full of despair and grief, pain and sorrow, uncertainty and fear, yet I can leave all my cares with Him and know that all will be well. It is the Christ who gives me strength to carry on. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Therefore did the Christ say during the great sermon on the mount, “..Take no Thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? Behold the fowl of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? And why7 take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherfore if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, o ye of little faith? (Matt 5:25-30). Surely with the christian there should be no worries, no anxieties, no depressions. God’s people can rejoice in the Lord always.

The second reason we have communion with God is the security we have within the tabernacle. Although a christian can sin and choose not to seek forgiveness and be lost, the christian who confesses that sin and repents of that sin can know he is right with God and is going to heaven (I Jn 5:13).

The third reason one can have communion with God is He has set us up upon a rock. Isaiah in prophecy wrote, “Therefore thus saith the Lord God, behold I lay in Zion a foundation a stone, a tried stone, a precious stone, a sure foundation: he that believeth shall make hast.” (Isa 28:16). Paul declared that of other foundation can no man lay than that which is laid, Christ Jesus (I Cor 3:11).

The Psalmist then gies the Compassion of God. “Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me. When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, Lord, will I seek. Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou hast been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, o God of my salvation. When my father and my mother forsake me, then the Lord will take me up. Teach me thy way, O Lord and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies. Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses are risen up against Me, and such as breathe out cruelty” (Psalm 27:7-12). Within this passage we see the Goodness of God (27:7-10). We see the guidance of God (Psalm 27:11-12). How great to have the guiding hand of the Lord. While God does not excersise the use of His power by performing miracles today (I Cor 13:8-12; Eph 4:8-13), He does make full use of His providential powers. Therefore we have God’s protection.

The psalmist then describes the comfort from God, “I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord (Ps 27:13,14). Through God we have support and strength. No doubt we should not live in fear but rather in faith of God to help us through troubled times. Yet all of this only comes when we wait upon the Lord.



Comments


bottom of page