top of page

The Effectual Working of Grace

The Effectual Working of Grace

Mark Mosher



For ye are saved by Grace and that not of yourselves. It is a gift of God, not of works lest any man should boast (Eph 2:8). How one conceives as the source of salvation becomes the dividing line in religion. Salvation is not ek ergon (out of works). Salvation is ek theou (out of God). “And be found in him not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:” (Phil 3:9; emphasis mine). It is God the father who planned and purposed salvation (Eph 3:10-11). It is Christ our Lord who executed that plan and died on the cross (Eph 1:7). It is the Holy Spirit who gave us the message by which we can obtain the grace of God (John 16:13). Belief, Repentance, Confession, and Baptism become the means by which one accesses that Grace (Rom 5:1-2). Ones obedience is absolutely necessary to being placed in a position where God will justify. However, one has nothing in which to boast. Salvation is not merited nor deserved (Rom 3: ). We today have a savior who died violently on the cross to take our place. No greater love can man imagine than this (Rom 5:6-8). Truly the Love of God is a tremendous blessing for the Christian. Paul the apostle in writing the book of Romans helped us to understand and appreciate the many blessings we have in Christ.


We have the blessing of Peace Rom 5:1. It is a peace that passes all understanding (Phil 4:7). A peace that comes from the knowledge that I am forgiven. Yet it is a peace that came with a terrible price. A peace that follows purity. “But the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable…” (James 3:17a). Unless the doctrine is pure there can be no peace with God. Since faith comes by hearing the Word of God (Rom 10:17), then one cannot be taught wrong and obey right. One can never be at peace with God unless he follows the purity of the Word of God.


We have the blessing of hope Rom 5:2. “Let us rejoice” is from the Greek kauchometha. It is in the present middle voice and is subjunctive thus we keep on rejoicing within ourselves. Could you imagine a world without hope. Yet this hope is rooted in the Glory of God and therefore cannot make us ashamed nor disappoint us.


We have the blessing of glorying in our tribulations Rom 5:3. We often sing the song, “Because He lives” showing that we can face tomorrow and all fear is gone. Therefore can faith say, “Whatever state I am in to be therewith content” (Phil 4:11). Yet these tribulations work patience and allows one the opportunity and experience to help others who struggle with the same. If I were struck with some great disease tomorrow I need to remember that I am justified, at peace with, rejoicing in hope, tried and not disappointed Christian who knows of the Love of God.


We have the blessing of no condemnation Rom 8:1. When Christ came He nailed the law of Moses to the cross and gave us a law where we could obtain full pardon (John 1:16-18). We do not have to worry about coming up short. We can be made complete in Christ (Rom 6:3-4).


We have the blessing of being Joint heirs with Christ Rom 8:17. We have the great joy of knowing that whatever Christ received in heaven is ours to enjoy.


We have the blessing of the Resurrection Rom 8:18-23. What a glorious thought to know that we will one day see each other again. Christians will be able to tell each other the things they wished they had said more when they were alive.


We have the blessing of help in our prayers Rom 8:26-27. Often times when difficulties arise I have difficulties in my prayer. Yet I know that the whole of the Godhead is involved in hearing and answering my prayer.


As a result of these blessings we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us (Rom 8:37). Paul is very careful to take the time to tell Christians about the blessing they already have. One would wonder why Paul would need to say this to those who already obtain these blessings. Yet the greatest danger we face as Christians is familiarity. We read and hear of the Grace of God so often it seldom makes an impression on us. The question that we must constantly ask ourselves is, How has the grace of God in my life affected my actions and attitude toward the church and those around me? Has the Grace of God caused me to be more involved in the work of the church? Do I appreciate so much what God has done for me that I am constantly looking for ways to help. Paul appealed to the brethren to consider the mercies and Grace of God so that they could present their bodies a living sacrifice (Rom 12:1). Out of an appreciation for the Grace of God I am able to serve God daily (Rom 12:1). Out of an appreciation for the Grace of God I do not allow the world to fashion my thinking (Rom 12:2). Rather I mold my thinking through the Word of God so I can prove what is good and acceptable. I allow God to be the author of right and wrong. Out of an appreciation for the Grace of God I do not consider myself above others (Rom 12:3-8). Every individual I meet has a soul and is in need of the Grace of God. The Grace of God therefore mold my thinking and my attitude. I do not have a pretended love. I can see the distinction between what is good and what is evil (Rom 8:9). I have the proper work ethic (Rom 8:11). I have the proper attitude toward mine enemies (Rom 12:14-21)


This author is a product of a Christian home. I was greatly blessed with Godly parents. There has never been a time I did not know about the cross of Christ and the church for which He died. Yet given all that opportunity I had to fight complacency. Those who are converts from denominationalism are often times stronger in their convictions. They seldom take for granted what Christ has done for them. It would be good for all Christians to pray to God and thank him daily for the forgiveness of their sins. How has the Grace of God affected your life?

Comments


bottom of page